The Great Week 8.

This week was actually really cool. It was about planning and preparation in the classroom and how planning effectively can not only benefit one student, but all students in your classroom.

The case study for this week was about a boy who didn’t appear to be disabled, but had a slight learning disability. It really made me think how I would address the situation in my future classroom. Am I going to accommodate my lessons to help one student succeed? Yes. After this case study it really had me thinking about what I could do in order to help each student succeed. Not only that, but I think taking the time to discover what would work best is not only helping your students, but it is helping you as the teacher. You are dedicating time and patience into your classroom to help those who need it the most. And that is your job as a teacher.

Planning and preparation goes along with what’s called INCLUDE. When I was doing the vocabulary I felt like I knew what include was. To me it was being part of something or you are inviting someone to be part of something. But it is deeper than that. It has 7 steps, one for each letter.

I: Identify classroom demands     N: Note student learning strengths and needs   C: Check for potential areas of student success    L: Look for potential problem areas   U: Use information to brainstorm ways to differentiate instruction    D: Differentiate instruction     E. Evaluate student progress

Under each letter you determine how you can help a student in need. Going back to the Case study our group did; we were able to work together as “different teachers” and determine what we could do for a student in need. I feel as if this is the best way to prepare any studying college student for future teacher team meetings.

This week also marks the week that all my classes connected! I mean there are always those little connections here and there, but we were specifically talking about THIS CLASS. In PE methods we are talking about students with disabilities and how we can accommodate our lessons to add them in so they can still have fun. Then, my professor talked about IEP, Mainstreaming, Zero reject, Inclusion, Free appropriate education, and Least Restrictive Environment. I’m sure everyone is either taking the class or has taken this class, but the fact that I could make personal connections really helped me make my PE lesson plans. It really helped me see the history and why we need those laws for Education.

I also had the opportunity to do another simulation this week. Early Monday morning I grabbed the wheel chair. THE WHEEL CHAIR. Not easy. I repeat, NOT EASY.

  1. Restroom: Did you realize that bathroom doors aren’t automatic and actually every heavy to open? Oh and the bathroom stalls are way to small for a person with a wheel chair.
  2. Go to another building; ask for directions: I have been up on campus for a little while now, I know my way around. But do I know my way around with a wheel chair? Nope. Most of the buildings have stairs. I had to ask people how to get to a building that didn’t require me to use the stairs! It was almost impossible, anywhere you go on BYUI campus there will be stairs.
  3. Ride an elevator: Literally my whole day. “Excuse me, where is the elevator to this building?” I feel like all my classes are on the second and third floors, of course. I now know where all the elevators are.
  4. Go up/down hill by yourself 1 time: Did you know that BYUI is built on a shield volcano? Yeah. A HILL. The place is on a hill. I almost wish I had a little toot toot horn on the wheel chair. “Everyone I’m coming down the hill. MOVE.” That was just hard. And then going up hill? I felt like that took me four times as long as it would have just to walk. Also, my arms are sore from using them so much.
  5. Go through exterior public door w/o using automatic door opener. So funny story. Doors are heavy and as I am sitting there struggling to get it open some kind soul pushed the button… Thanks but no thanks. I feel like going out was easier then coming in. Going out I wasn’t so much in the way of the door as I was coming in.
  6. Go through exterior door using automatic door opener: “Go for the open door!” What a blessing it is to have automatic doors! The struggle is real! In the five hours I was in the wheel chair, I never felt more blessed to have automatic doors.
  7. Ask for assistance to navigate tough spot:
  8. Strive to be as independent as possible: I am an independent person anyway, so it was a natural to feel that independent desire when it came to being in wheel chair. Not only that, but I feel like I had the wheel chair when everyone was in class, so there wasn’t a ton of people around.

Doing this activity, I realized that there are some people who are in such a hurry that they will see someone struggling and still walk past them. I know for a fact that I have been that person, and it made me feel guilty. It really made me reflect back on the Savior, what would he have done? We are all here on Earth to strive to become more like Him, how do we do that when we walk right past those who are struggling? Maybe people are struggling and we have no idea. We should make it a goal to serve someone every day. Even if we can physically see it or whether we can’t, there are still people out there that would need our help. Who are you going to serve today?

That is everything made up of the Great Week 8. I saw so many opportunities and my eyes were opened up a little wider. Goodbye week 8 and hello week 9. New and exciting things are about to happen! Stay tuned.

 

Leave a Reply

