9. Lesson 9.

This week was a lot about collaboration, a lot of working with our groups to accomplish something. That something was to determine if a student had a disability in one way or another. There are so many different ways to tell if a student has a disability. That could include something serve to mild. It is so important to the teacher to recognize those symptoms and help them now rather than later. Soon we understand the student, then soon they can succeed and enjoy being in school.

This leads us right into the Universal Designed Learning. In basic terms it is the development of flexible learning. It is where teachers can make accommodations for all of their students to succeedImage result for definition of UDL. We have to understand that we all learn differently and if the teacher doesn’t incorporate that into their lessons, then how is everyone going to learn? Universal Designed Learning is learning meant for everyone, not just those who need extra help.

One last thing. I did some more of my simulations. Each time I have humbling experiences that make me respect those who struggle with it.

Fluency Disorder of Stuttering: The story starts at Walmart, just like any other good story, we needed food and Walmart is just down the street. I had gotten a whole cart of things and as I was standing in line I realized that I still had more simulations to perform and this was the perfect opportunity, I had lots of things and no one could escape- not even me. Now the first time I did the stuttering disorder, we were in Porters and the lady didn’t ever let me finish my sentences. So, in all honesty I was expecting the same thing. It was finally my turn and the guy started with asking me questions! Like I said, I knew this was a perfect opportunity. After the third question, he stopped asking me questions. Overall, stopped talking to me. So, I asked him a question about my items- He looked at me and said, “come again?”. At first I was like, was he ignoring me? As I was repeating my question I realized how hard it was to understand myself. Then I remember a lady in my parents ward who struggled with the same thing. It was hard, painful even, to listen to. You just want to reach out and help them speak. I’m not sure what the guy at the checkout what actually thinking. But after my second question everything had been checked out. I said thank you and left.

I found it interesting that he never actually stopped talking to me, but he didn’t continue any conversations. I realize that it is painful and hard to listen to someone who struggles, but the fact is, he let me finish my sentences. He didn’t interrupt or guess what I was trying to say. Maybe he is used to people coming in and just talking. (I could understand that, I used to work at a grocery store, sometimes you just let people talk.) Either way, whether he is used to people talking to him non-stop or maybe he just didn’t know how to respond, he let me talk. Again, a completely different experience from Porters.

This week led to many learning experiences and again, more humbling experiences. I learned that collaboration with my group is important and that there are struggle students and grown people out there who need help everyday.  This class has made me more aware of who is around me and how I can help. Not only that, but it has made me think about how I will help my students in the future. Because of this class I will be more aware of how to address those that need help.

Leave a Reply

